Eyes On The Prize

The idea for my blog this evening came from my 6 year old son Isaac. This week has been half term and he’s been attending a football camp run by the lovely people at Burnley FC In The Community. As Burnley are playing Lincoln in the FA Cup tomorrow live on TV there was a special visitor at training this morning, the actual FA Cup!!

fa-cup

All the children were excited to have their photos taken, some slightly apprehensive after the briefing not to touch the prestigious cup. Isaac was absolutely thrilled to see it and I really hope it has inspired him to keep training hard, practising his skills and dreaming that one day he’ll actually get to hold the trophy. Maybe he’ll make it, maybe he won’t, who knows but I think that having a dream is really important, having your eyes on the prize drives you on at times when you think you have no more to give and motivates you to find that extra something from somewhere.

Until signing up for the Yorkshire Marathon my training was purely about achieving a healthier lifestyle and keeping active. Although I enjoyed my runs/advanced jogs, they lacked somewhat in intensity and real purpose and a friend had planted the seed that having a specific goal to train for would be useful, not sure whether to thank you Rick or curse you, I guess I’ll find out for real in October. Having something to work towards now though has helped to give me an extra push. For the marathon itself I’ve set myself what I think is a realistic time goal but I’ll genuinely be thrilled to just make it round intact.

Tonight’s run, 11.6 miles, 1hr 33mins 13 secs, was tough for a couple of reasons. Firstly it was an almost entirely new route for me and at one point I actually got lost, secondly it was quite an undulating route and I actually find running downhill harder than uphill, don’t seem to be able to get the technique of not letting me legs run away with me and maintaining a steady pace quite right and finally we’d had a buffet lunch celebration for a colleague going on maternity leave and sausage rolls, pakoras and samosas is hardly the greatest pre-run meal I’ve ever had!!! I broke the route down in my mind though and set some goals which pulled me through.

Whatever you are doing in life, whether you consider it big or small always have a goal to help motivate you, keep your eyes on the prize and dream big, what’s the worst that can happen?

One thought on “Eyes On The Prize

Comments are closed.