Survivor

A warning to all music fans, before getting your hopes up this post isn’t about the mullet kings of 80s American soft rock who sang this beauty made famous in Rocky III, despite its links to running and the famous scene of Sly Stallone legging it up the 72 stone steps in front of the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

And it isn’t about Beyoncé and her pals in Destiny’s Child strutting their stuff in camouflage gear either.

In November 2011 I was sat in a pub half watching some match or other whilst chatting away to my mate, we spotted that several players were sporting rather dubious facial hair in aid of Movember and joked that next year we should give it a go, little did I realise at the time how prophetic that off the cuff conversation would be. A couple of weeks later I found a lump and thought it best to get checked out just to be on the safe side, the doctor said it was most likely a cyst but he’d book me in for a scan to make sure.

A couple of weeks went by and no appointment came, by now it was Christmas time and without going into graphic detail things had grown and I was becoming increasingly anxious. I went back to the doctors and no scan appointment had been made, a misplaced fax was blamed (Fax!!!!!! What year were we in??? 1983???). Eventually my appointment came through and the next day I received the call nobody wants, my results were in and the doctor wanted to see me asap. Whilst fearing the worst a part of me hoped that he was calling me in so quickly to put my mind at ease, wrong, I had testicular cancer, I took in very little else that was said to me. To cut a long story short on 7th March 2012 I had the cancer removed and have been cancer free ever since, no chemo, no radiotherapy, nothing apart from regular check ups, if you can have cancer and class yourself as lucky that’s me.

DSCF2165
Isaac’s cheese face with his own muzzer!

In November that year the conversation of 12 months earlier became reality and I grew a very dodgy ‘tache for Movember, the support I received from friends, family and colleagues was immense.

During my check ups I saw in waiting rooms how others suffered far worse than I did and that made me determined to give something back and take the chance I have been given. For those reasons one of the charities I will be raising money for when running the Leeds half marathon and York marathon will be Macmillan Cancer Support.

My other charity is somewhat less well known but equally deserving. On 11th May 1985, 56 people lost their lives in the fire at Bradford City’s Valley Parade stadium, one of them was my cousin Adrian, aged 11. Hundreds of people were injured that day many with severe, life changing burns. Out of something so tragic came something so positive, the Plastic Surgery and Burns Research Unit (PSBRU). They used pioneering techniques to treat the injured and since that day have been working tirelessly to enhance medical knowledge and clinical technique in the treatment of burns. Everyone affected by the tragedy is, in my mind at least, a survivor.

The memory of these two events in my life pushes me on when things are tough, they give me perspective and now my running gives me the opportunity to raise money for these charities and make a difference to the lives of others.

If you would like to sponsor me you can find full details on my Sponsorship page.

“I’m a survivor, keep on surviving”.

